Background

Since I was young, I’ve been interested in health and medicine—and much of my academic life has been devoted to the study of human physiology and medicine.  Over the years I have developed a keen interest in learning how to prevent illness.  I believe that learning how to prevent a disease often gives us some insight into the disease process itself and ultimately its cure.

After obtaining a Masters in Physiology and Biophysics at Georgetown University, I studied medicine at New York University School of Medicine and then went to do my internship & residency in internal medicine at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center/ Harvard Medical School.  During my years at these institutions, I participated in clinical and laboratory research in the fields of immunology and cell biology, gastroenterology, obstetrics and gynecology and endocrinology—I was quite busy and had little time (or energy) to fully develop opinions about the emerging health care machine, the pharmaceutical industry and our modern approach to treating patients.

My life changed dramatically with the birth of my first child, and I made the simple, yet difficult decision to stay at home with my children to raise them how I thought would be best.  During this time away from working in a hospital setting, I have continued to research topics of interest to me but have enough distance to think independently and critically about issues that have come up regarding the care of ill family members, friends and acquaintances.

My goal with this website is to share information about specific health related topics I have found useful, identifying my sources and stating what I think to be potentially helpful but speculative ideas.  I see myself as embracing an integrated, common sense approach to health and medicine and hope to share the positive aspects of what I have learned with others.


Disclaimer:

The ideas on this website are based upon the experience and training of the author and the scientific information currently available.  The suggestions on this website are not meant to be a substitute for careful medical evaluation and treatment by a qualified, licensed health professional.  The author does not recommend changing or adding medication or supplements, or making dietary changes  without first consulting your personal physician.  The author specifically disclaims any liability arising directly or indirectly from the use of this website.

Leave a Reply

